The Council of Chairpersons

The Council of Chairpersons

Council of Chairpersons of the Party of the European Left

The Council of Chairpersons meets at least twice a year. Members are the Chairpersons of all member parties, as well as the EL Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.

The Council of Chairpersons has, with regards to the Executive Board, the rights of initiative and of objection on important political issues.

The Council adopts resolutions and recommendations that are passed to the Executive Board, and decides on applications for EL membership.

Jose Luis Centella

Partido comunista de España (PCE), Communist Party of Spain (Spain)

Constantin Rotaru

Partidul Alianta Socialista (PAS), Socialist Alliance Party (Romania)

Catarina Martins

Bloco de Esquerda, Left Bloc (Portugal)

João Semedo

Bloco de Esquerda, Left Bloc (Portugal)

Vladimir Voronin

Partidul Comuniştilor din Republica Moldova (PCRM), Party of Communists of the Republic of Moldova (Moldova)

Frank Jost

Déi lénk, The Left (Luxembourg)

Bernd Riexinger

Die Linke, The Left (Germany)

Katja Kipping

Die Linke, The Left (Germany)

Alberto Garzón

Izquierda Unida (IU) United Left (Spain)

Jean-Luc Mélenchon

Parti de Gauche (PG), Party of the Left (France)